Arkansas-Pine Bluff Athletics

Facebook Twitter RSS SMS Photo Gallery E-News Live Stats
Thurmond and Ross Recieve All- American Honors
Bookmark and Share
(Pittsburgh, PA – January 23, 2013) –American Urban Radio Networks is proud to announce the 2012 SBN Sports Black College All-American (BCAA) Team. They will be honored at the 39th Annual BCAA Awards Brunch and during the Black College Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony, February 16, 2013, in Atlanta, Georgia. SBN's 2012 Black College National Champion Winston-Salem State Rams will also be honored with the SBN Sports Jake Gaither National Championship Trophy.
The 2012 SBN All-American Team is lead by eleven players from Winston-Salem State, Tennessee State and Alabama State, respectively. The TSU Tigers and WSSU Rams each had four members of their respective squads selected to the team. Individually, Winston-Salem State University quarterback Kameron Smith is the “SBN Sports Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year,” University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff defensive lineman Brandon Thurmond is the “SBN Sports Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year” and Winston-Salem State University Head Coach Connell Maynor is the “SBN Sports Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year.”
Brandon Thurmond (6-2, 260, Sr., Augusta, GA) University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff, “SBN Sports | Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year”
Thurmond was the Defensive Player of the Year in the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC). He recorded 70 tackles, seven quarterback hurries, three recovered fumbles and one forced fumble. Thurmond led the nation in sacks with 17.5 and was second in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) with 28 tackles for loss. In the Golden Lions SWAC Championship Game win over Jackson State, Thurmond had six solo tackles, three tackles for loss and one sack.
The 2012 SBN Sports Black College All-American Team, including Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, Coach of the Year and National Championship Team will be honored at the 39th Annual BCAA Awards Brunch and during the Black College Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony on Saturday, February 16, 2013, at the Loews Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia. 
The SBN Black College All-American Awards (BCAA) recognizes and celebrates the academic and athletic achievements of student athletes who play football at America's Historically Black Colleges and Universities. 
Thurmond racked a NCAA leading 17.5 sacks and Ross led the SWAC in tackles with 117 total. Both Thurmond and Ross were anchors on 2012 SWAC Champion Golden Lions Defense that ranked second in total defense and first in scoring.
Position Name School Height Weight Class Hometown
QB Kameron Smith Winston-Salem State 5-11 190 Sr. Garner, NC
RB Daronte McNeil Elizabeth City State 6-2 220 Sr. Elizabeth City, NC
RB Trabis Ward Tennessee State 5-10 200 Jr. Ft. Lauderdale, FL
WR Rico Richardson Jackson State 6-1 185 Sr. Natchez, MS
WR Travis Tarpley Delaware State 5-7 175 Sr. Danville, VA
TE A.C. Leonard Tennessee State 6-4 245 So. Jacksonville, FL
OL Sherman Carter Tennessee State 6-3 300 Sr. La Vergne,TN
OL Terrance Hackney Bethune-Cookman 6-6 310 So Chapel Hill, NC
OL Terren Jones Alabama State 6-7 320 Sr. Ft. Walton Beach, FL
OL Markus Lawrence Winston-Salem State 6-4 290 Sr. Charlotte, NC
OL Christopher Tolbert Tuskegee 6-5 290 Jr. Birmingham, AL
PK Chase Varnadore Florida A&M 5-11 170 So. Tallahassee, FL
DL Brad Davis Elizabeth City State 6-1 245 Sr. Charlotte, NC
DL Joseph LeBeau Jackson State 6-1 245 Sr. New Orleans, LA
DL LeBrandon Richardson Bethune-Cookman 6-2 255 So. Miami, FL
DL Brandon Thurmond Arkansas- Pine Bluff 6-2 260 Sr. Augusta, GA
LB Carlos Fields, Jr. Winston-Salem State 6-2 220 Jr. Henderson, NC
LB Keith Pough Howard 6-3 225 Sr. Orangeburg, SC
LB Bill Ross Arkansas-Pine Bluff 6-2 240 Sr. Wetumpka, AL
DB Vernon Marshall Alabama A&M 5-11 188 Sr. Birmingham, AL
DB Steven Godbolt III Tennessee State 6-1 180 So. Cross City, FL
DB Kejuan Riley Alabama State 6-1 208 Sr. Wetumpka, AL
DB Malcolm Rowe Winston-Salem State 6-2 200 Sr. Fayetteville, NC
P Bobby Wenzig Alabama State 6-2 180 Jr. San Diego, CA
RS Tyron Laughinghouse St. Augustine's 6-3 175 Sr. Greenville, NC
SBN COACH OF THE YEAR – Connell Maynor, Winston-Salem State University
Print Friendly Version